Humility and Pride

God has been using a  faithful friend to open my eyes to a problem I have. If you know me at all, you probably guessed it; it’s pride. I’ve also been reading an excellent boook by C.J. Mahaney called Humility: True Greatness. He says that “pride is when sinful human beings aspire to the status and position of God and refuse to acknowledge their dependence on Him”  Wow! No wonder God hates pride!

C.J. defines humility excellently “Humility is honestly assessing ourselves in light of God’s holiness and our sinfulness.” Jesus is the ultimate example of humility; the King of Kings leaving the worship and glory of Heaven to come to earth, live a simple, poor life, and die a horrible death to take our sins upon him. He did it because he loves us.

1 Peter 5:5 says God is opposed to the proud but gives grace to the humble.  Do I really want God to be opposed to me? Or do I want His sweet grace? We should pray daily for humility.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Very true. I believe that we all struggle with pride. Definitely are big thing in are culture.

  2. 2

    abidingjoy said,

    Yes, our culture particularly has a huge problem with pride. We think we are so talented and important, but as Paul says to the Corinthians: “what do you have that you did not recieve? And if you did recieve it, why do you boast as if you did not recieve it? ”
    God gave us our talents, our abilities to work, think, and live.

  3. 3

    Katie Marie said,

    Welcome to blogging, Heidi. 🙂

    I agree, we should pray daily for humility.

    One thing I’ve noticed with myself lately: when I start noticing pride in other people and being offended by their pride, it’s a huge, big, red, warning sign, telling me that I have a *big* issue with pride myself.

  4. 4

    Lauren said,

    I agree. I know how often I’ve struggled with thinking that I’m “better than them.” It shames me to think that I would ever consider myself above God or anyone else. Mahaney’s book sounds excellent. I’m going to look it up. 🙂

  5. 5

    OK time to update it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

